Grown men crying

For some people of the Dordogne district (Jean’s district), life has been on hold for two days as they have watched the three ‘Anne of Green Gables’ films. Grown fishermen have been wiping tears away and taking Jean aside to say how great the films are.

Ha – and they like to laugh at us for being over sentimental and soft.

I brought the films with me as a slightly embarrassing but greatly coveted collection to watch to soothe my soul whenever Madagascar culture shock was grating on my nerves.

Nice to see that good ol’ Anne Shirley can touch the hearts of the most hardened Malagasy. I wonder what else I can get to inspire tenderness amongst the locals….full boxed set of Little House on the Prairie would be good.

Leave a Reply

